top of page

Preparation For Sensitive Interviews

A main focal point of the Hidden Slaves investigation will be the experience of 'Amy' - a victim of modern-day slavery in the UK. Amy will be spoken about further in my final article but will be a way in which to bring a colourful emotive angle to the news story.

This was my first time interviewing and speaking to someone that has had such a traumatic experience, although this was journalistically a good opportunity - it forced me to tackle problematic issues. Modern slavery was already a sensitive topic to speak to experts and charities, let alone survivors.

So how did I confront such a difficult challenge? The key was sensitivity, I prepared myself for the interviewee to be potentially emotionally unstable and at some points find certain things difficult to speak about. Before I conducted the interview, I had already spoken to Richard Lancashire - a modern slavery expert and part of Surrey Police, meaning that everything was assessed lawfully and all ethical considerations were met. He told me to be caring and considerate of the situation and that the anonymity of her must be put in place due to the chance of her being re-trafficked.

I also discussed the issue in depth with my tutor, Andy Bissell, who has masses of previous experience with interviewing someone about sensitive topics or personal issues. This meaning, he was able to advise me on how to appropriately approach an interview which could be potentially intrusive. His advice was to prepare myself for someone who is likely to still be emotionally scarred from the experience and to be open and kind to them.

I was also unaware of the language ability of the person prior to interviewing them. I therefore had to prepare for the worst and adapt my questions accordingly.

I am aware that in some ways, I made life more difficult for myself by choosing such an ambitious subject. Yet, I believe that after facing these topics first hand, it will enforce a better understanding of what will be expected of me in my future journalism career.

bottom of page